The Principals Office.

I sat there in that chair. That well known chair. With its ugly cross hatch pattern, with its upholstery starting to tear, with its lumpy cushioning making it slightly more uncomfortable than it should be. The worn out chair I’d sat on so many times. I took in my surroundings. I could hear the faint noises on telephones and scratchings of pens. But all I could see was that great, big, wooden door. Intimidating to all, blocking what is going inside that horrible room. My eyes fixed on the old plaque on the door with rusty edges that slightly peeled at the sides. My reflection bounced off its shiny goldness and into my face, but my eyes were to focused on the faded, engraved writing that said “Principals Office” I put my face in my hands and took a deep breath. I’d really screwed up this time. I’d lost the trust. They gave me a final straw, and I ran off with it. It’s gone. I worked so hard to keep the trust there, so damn hard. But now it’s just slipped through my fingers like water would. The threatening door moaned in objection so I knew what was coming. They were coming. I saw 2 figures standing in the door way with solemn looks on their faces. The principal gestured me in but her eyes told a different story. They were not inviting, at all. But I still stood up, my heaving feet dragging me towards the dreaded office until I finally finished my slow journey through the doorway and the big door slammed behind me. Thats when I truly felt scared.

Leave a Reply

